top of page

Recipes

Truly Delicious, Evil, shrimp, scallop, pork, or chicken with mixed bell pepper, mushroom cream sauc

One of my February 2012 recipes for National Foundation for Celiac Awareness, now Beyond Celiac.

Serve it as a sauce for meat from the grill.

And I made it again last night after posting it.

I have been making this recipe for many years. In England I only made it with green bell peppers since red bell peppers were rarely available and same as here (USA), were often far more expensive. It is a rich sauce that I like to serve with pasta and usually a pork steak. I had shrimp and scallops left over from Christmas so I made the sauce to go with shrimp and scallops but it is good with salmon, chicken breasts or served on its own for a vegetarian meal. I like making it with different colored bell peppers for visual appeal. BTW, I cheated and bought a bag of three color bell peppers with onions. It was predominantly raw onions in huge chunks so a waste of money. I will buy raw, fresh red bell peppers by the bag since they are much cheaper that way in my market.

gluten free shrimp mushroom bell pepper cream sauce www.kenwphoto.com

2 tbsp (30ml) olive oil or butter

1 small onion peeled and thinly sliced

2 cloves of garlic, peeled and finely crushed. - optional since it is Valentines. I don’t agree with the theory that as long as both of you are eating garlic, it’s fine.

1 small green bell pepper, deseeded and cut into 1+1/2 inch (4 cm) squares (or half a large pepper)

1 small red bell pepper, deseeded and cut into 1+1/2 inch squares (or half a large pepper)

Half of a 10 or 12 oz (275-350 g) (container of regular button mushrooms, cleaned and cut into slices

¼ c (60ml) gf tomato ketchup. Before you say yuck, I use tomato ketchup as a seasoning in many recipes. Most of us have tomato ketchup in the house for burgers, hot dogs, fries, tenders etc and it is cheaper and less wasteful than a 6 oz can of tomato paste.

½ c (4 fl oz, 120 ml) heavy (double) cream.

1 tbsp (15 ml) lemon juice

Salt and pepper to taste.

gluten free shrimp, pasta, mushroom bell pepper cream sauce. www.kenwphoto.com

served with rice tower.

Melt olive oil or butter in 2 quart (2 ltr) non stick pan. Add onion and garlic and cook over gentle heat until onions are soft and almost transparent.

Add peppers, stir well, cover and leave to cook until they are also tender.

Stir in mushrooms, tomato ketchup and salt and pepper and cook over higher heat until mushrooms are softening and releasing their juice.

Stir in heavy cream and lemon juice, and simmer over gentle heat for about 5 minutes. Taste and adjust seasonings.

I like to add fresh parsley, sometimes fresh basil. I always serve it with thin pasta, rice just doesn’t seem to go with it.

I heated a small non stick skillet, seasoned four scallops and seared them on one side for about 2 minutes, then added shrimp (6 x 15-20/lb, 500g), turned the scallops to continue cooking and then turned shrimp. Photo shows dish served with wild and white rice but I prefer pasta.

Featured Posts
Follow Me
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
No tags yet.
Tags
Gluten Free e-Cookbook
bottom of page