top of page

Recipes

Avoid the heat, no bake Toffee Crisp Cake

This size is about 5 small portions making the calories not so horrendous.

While I was finishing my 'Delicious Gluten Free Cooking' cookbook, I checked Costco UK to see if they also carried items I use in America. I have family and friends in England, Europe and Canada and try to give American cup measures as well as Imperial and Metric measures. Plus, we had family visiting from England and I wanted to check out any Costco UK items I might want. One of the cakes on line was called a Toffee Crisp Cake. Toffee Crisp is an English chocolate candy bar of puffed rice (rice krispies) mixed with caramel and smothered in milk chocolate. I haven't had one in years but I had all the ingredients so here it is. When I'm creating a recipe I like to make as small a quantity as possible. It saves money and calories. I made the cake in a small slanting sided cereal bowl 5 inches (13 cm) across the top, 1+1/2 inches (4 cm) deep and roughly 1+1/2 cups (360 ml) total quantity. To make different sized cakes pour water into the container you want to use and do the math of how many times 1+1/2 cups it is.

gluten free, no bake, toffee crisp cake  www.kenwphoto.com

This is very definitely sweet, perhaps too sweet for some of us, but the kids loved it, and so did Dad. I also tried making it with bought puffed rice by Arrowhead Mills but that was soft and soggy when it should be crisp. You could also make this with cornflakes for a crispier texture.

Update June 2017. Yes, Rice Krispies are yet again NOT gluten free. With the heat I was wanting something sweet with my afternoon cup of tea. It's British genetic conditioning. My local store carries Envirokidz chocolate Koala crisp, 11.5 oz box, $3.99. Box sounds noisy same as rice krispies. So I made this with them as well as making regular rice krispie treats. gluten free, wheat free, ingredients: brown rice flour, cane sugar, cocoa, chocolate flavor, salt, molasses.

1+1/2 cups (2oz, 55g) Envirokidz chocolate Koala crisp

½ c (5 oz, 150g) caramel sauce. Tested with Trader Joe's caramel sauce, labeled gluten free. Or melt caramels with cream for same quantity.

¼ c (2 oz, 55g) butter. Don't use oil, you need butter or earth balance that solidifies

½ c (3oz, 85g) milk chocolate , either good quality chips or chunk cut into small pieces- use semi sweet for more adult taste.

2 tbsp (15 ml) butter

1. Line bowl with plastic wrap.

2. Heat caramel and butter until butter is melted and caramel and butter mix up into one smooth liquid. I do this in a 4 cup microwave safe bowl in microwave.

3. Stir in rice krispies until all krispies seem to be covered with butter caramel mixture.

4. Scrape into lined bowl. Refrigerate until firm.

5. Remove from fridge, turn out onto plate that's about 2 inches bigger than cake and remove plastic wrap.

6. Melt milk chocolate and butter together until smooth and runny.

7. Gently pour chocolate mix over rice krispies cake and help it to flow over side. Chill to allow chocolate time to set. Eaten straight from the fridge it is firm, at room temperature it pulls apart.

Featured Posts
Follow Me
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
No tags yet.
Tags
Gluten Free e-Cookbook
bottom of page