top of page

Recipes

Cauliflower Fried Rice

I avoided cauliflower rice for a long time. I love raw cauli or cooked, but cauliflower rice, on its own, steamed, wasn't enticing. I know Green Giant sells frozen cauliflower rice and my local supermarket sells fresh cauliflower as well as broccoli rice for about $5/lb.

I then read an article with same complaint of boring that I made and I'm a convert.

gluten free cauliflower rice www.kenwphoto.com

Photo is actually my cauliflower rice salad but you can see size of cauli.

The recipe I found cooked cauliflower rice in butter with onions and jalapeňoes, then added more butter. It was tasty, but you're making cauliflower rice to be low carb then adding a lot of butter. I'm not saying don't, just pointing it out.

I haven't given actual quantities, use what you have, cook for how many you need, just remember the more ingredients you add the tastier and more calories, the less, it becomes like plain white rice.

1.Break cauliflower in florettes and cut off most of stalk. Stalk just doesn't shred nicely.

2.Rinse cauliflower, drain and pat dry.

3. Put shredding blade into your food processor and shred cauliflower. It shreds into rice looking grains except for pieces of stalk.

4. Melt some butter and olive oil together in 9 inch skillet.

5. Add finely chopped onion, half a red bell pepper deseeded and cut into small dice, 1-2 cloves garlic crushed. Cook over medium heat for about 3-5 minutes until softening.

6. Add cauliflower rice, cook for about another 5 minutes until cauliflower is as cooked as you like it.

7. Add a knob of butter if you want, handful of fresh herbs and serve as a side dish or top with some nuts, cheese for meatless Monday.

Add hot peppers, pepper flakes.

Featured Posts
Follow Me
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
No tags yet.
Tags
Gluten Free e-Cookbook
bottom of page