top of page

Recipes

Easy, moist, not too tangy, orange cranberry bundt cake.

One of my November 2014 recipes for National Foundation for Celiac Awareness, now Beyond Celiac.

1x Bundt pan, muffins, or 2 x 8x4 loaf pans

This recipe came by way of my gluten free physical therapist Linda from her aunt Mary Waliszak from a newspaper 50 years ago. I just added orange to the batter. Linda says she makes it one for one with Pamela's Baking and Pancake mix. I found I liked to add a bit more baking powder. Remember Pamela's already contains raising agents. The recipe says 1-2 cups of whole fresh cranberries. Linda doesn't have a sweet tooth so she uses 2 cups cranberries. Another friend with young children uses only 1 cup of cranberries. I went the happy medium and used 1+1/2 cups and my husband thought it had too much of 'sour' cranberry tang – I didn't. Also with 1+1/2 or 2 cups of cranberries, it is much moister than with 1 cup. You could always add a bit more sugar or dates if you want to use 2 cups cranberries. November 2017 update at bottom.

gluten free orange cranberry bundt cake.  www.kenwphoto.com

2+1/4 c (9 oz, 255g) Pamela's Baking and Pancake mix. (or regular wheat flour for wheat eaters)

1 c (7 oz) sugar

¼ tsp salt

½ tsp gf baking powder

1 c (4 oz, 100g) chopped nuts

1 c (4+1/2 oz, 130g) chopped dates

1-2 c whole fresh cranberries (4-8 oz, 110-220g)

2 eggs beaten

grated zest of a large orange or 1 Tbsp, (15 ml) orange extract – my choice

1 tsp (5 ml) gf vanilla extract – my choice

3/4 c (180 ml, 6 fl oz) oil – I use regular olive oil or avocado oil

1 c (240 ml, 8 fl oz) buttermilk

…..........

glaze:

Mix ½ c (120ml) thawed orange juice concentrate and ½ c sugar.

I also used orange marmalade and orange juice

1. Preheat oven to 350*

2. Mix all dry ingredients together in an 8 cup (2 ltr) bowl

3. Add eggs, oil, extracts and buttermilk and mix well.

4. Pour into greased and gf floured tube pan or 2 x 8x4 loaf pans. I used regular 10 cup bundt pan.

5. Bake for 1 hour – check time at 50 minutes as each oven varies. Cake is lovely golden brown, softly firm, pulling away from the sides, didn't dome.

6. Remove from oven, and let stand until lukewarm. It has a tendency to crumble while warm and cuts best when totally cold.

7. Remove from pan and brush or drizzle with orange glaze.

Update November 2017

No xanthan gum, 1 tbsp baking powder, 6 oz my gf blend. 3 oz almond flour, 1 c cranberries.

70 minutes in my oven, very moist and dense. Cranberries tend to rise to top, so what.

My gf mix:

I use for one cup of GF mix.

½ cup potato starch

¼ c tapioca starch from Asian market or Goya or Yoki brand in supermarkets.

2 tbsp amaranth or millet flour: Bob’s Red Mill (millet is roughly one third the price of amaranth, is not so nutritious, but is more readily available.)

2 tbsp sorghum flour: Bob’s Red Mill.

Larger quantity:

1 x 14 oz bag potato starch, which is 3+1/2 cups - that's the size I can buy.

1+3/4 c of Tapioca Starch is 7 oz

Just under 1 cup of Amaranth or Millet (actually ¾ c plus 2 Tbsps is 4 oz)

Just under 1 cup of Sorghum (actually ¾ c plus 2 Tbsps is 4 oz)

Making about 7 cups total of mix.

Featured Posts
Follow Me
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
No tags yet.
Tags
Gluten Free e-Cookbook
bottom of page