top of page

Recipes

Corn Salsa/Salad, Tomato free

makes about 4 cups of salsa

This is one of the recipes I taped for NH's ABC WMUR cooks corner end of June 2019, (www.wmur.com) . Watch on YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-AdpEMEPUhQ

Also one of my July recipes for www.BeyondCeliac.com (formerly National Foundation for Celiac Awareness)

corn salsa salad  www.kenwphoto.com

A girlfriend, without cd, recommended Trader Joe's corn chili salsa. The ingredients listed are gluten free, but I'm sorry, if a company won't give any indication of gluten free safety of a dish, I won't trust them. A male associate in the store told me that it can only be labeled gluten free if entire facility is gf. I don't think so. My understanding is that if you label something gf, without having it tested and therefore labeled gf, you have to be able to prove it's gf. But how many manufacturers are that transparent???

I posted the Trader Joe's corn chili salsa on line and followers at my Gluten Free Cooking with Oonagh on fb say they've eaten it.

My girlfriend mixes it with sour cream to her taste, another follower does the same. Another layers it with crumbled goat cheese and avocado. The corn in the jar looked a bit shrunken so I made my own version and it was eaten and approved by wheat eaters at a neighborhood BBQ recently. I prefer to use a hot pepper jelly in lots of recipes. I don't like biting a piece of raw jalapeño, it's cooked in a pepper jelly, and the sugar mellows the heat.

~5 medium corn cobs, cooked and kernels cut off. Grilled, simmered – your choice.

Approximately 1 lb cooked kernels, 3 cups.

1/2c hot pepper jelly melted in microwave. Sweet pepper doesn't normally have any heat. I use Trappist brand made by monks in Massachusetts. Not labeled gf, but basic, real ingredients and many of us buy this brand with no reactions.

about 1 small red bell pepper, deseeded and cut into very small dice.

zest and juice of 2 limes for nicely tangy, reduce to 1 lime if you're not sure.

green of a bunch of green onions scissored into small slices and finely sliced white of 2 green onions. I am not a lover of raw onion.

1/2 c fresh parsley chopped

1/4 -1/2 c fresh cilantro chopped – or to your taste – my husband is not a cilantro lover.

Some salt and pepper

Happy 4th

Living in NH, one of the original 13 colonies. Hand made quilt that I bought at quilt show in Vermont. Actually bought from quilter at B&B we stayed at.

Original recipe included mustard seeds and coriander (cilantro) seed, some vinegar and some guar gum, which like xanthan gum will thicken juices. These gums are used and have been used for years in recipes for thickening, not just for gluten free products.

1. Microwave pepper jelly in 6-8 cup microwave safe container.

2. Stir in lime zest, lime juice, chopped red bell pepper, chopped herbs.

3. Add salt and pepper to your taste.

4. Stir in cooked corn kernels, cover and refrigerate. Flavors develop and mellow. Taste before serving.

We eat this with tortilla chips as a salsa and with grilled meat as a side salad. Lasts for several days in the fridge. Add to stir fry, nachos. Try mixing it with some sour cream and layering it with crumbles of goat cheese and diced avocado.

Featured Posts
Follow Me
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
No tags yet.
Tags
Gluten Free e-Cookbook
bottom of page