top of page

Recipes

Budget Friendly, Second life green onions/spring onions.

I saw this tip last summer somewhere on line and it works. I do have containers of herbs on my deck, and bring my hydroponic growing system indoors for the winter with gro lights for continuous parsley, sage etc. I use fresh parsley and green of green onion in many vinaigrettes, sauces, salads etc and never have enough. Chives are wonderful but again never enough. The tip said to plant about 3 inches of the white and root of a green onion/spring onion/scallion in soil and it would grow again. I've also left stems in jam jar of water, but that gets a bit smelly and yucky if you don't constantly change water.

budget friendly second life green onions/spring onions  www.kenwphoto.com

The photos show two tubs of potting soil with replanted green onions at various stages of regrowth. I make a hole with finger, push the 3 inch long piece with root and stem into hole for about an inch, push soil around stalk, and just keep repeating hole, green onion etc with only a small space between. Tip said to pull the green onion to use whole onion. I also just keep harvesting the green part for vinaigrettes as I say. The white of green onion is also useful for people who have no need of lots of onions, cooked white of green onion is sweeter than a yellow onion. You can plant shorter lengths, it just is a bit awkward holding smaller stalk.

Narrower green onions have milder tasting stalk, fat stalks can be quite strong raw onion flavor.

Featured Posts
Follow Me
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
No tags yet.
Tags
Gluten Free e-Cookbook
bottom of page