top of page

Recipes

Gluten Free Eggs Benedict Bread Pudding (aka lazy French toast) and Easy Hollandaise (+ dairy free v

One of my February 2015 recipes for National Foundation for Celiac Awareness, now Beyond Celiac. Part of my December 27, 2018 article on New Year for Nashua Telegraph Encore Food and Fun Supplement.

I found the original wheat recipe on Jones Dairy Farm site. I've used only their sausage roll for years for stuffing and home made patties and my husband loves me to buy the big bag of their ready cooked sausage for breakfast in preference to bacon. What I really appreciate is that I think they were one of the first to clearly label their products as gluten free. Yes, meat should be gluten free but far too many manufacturers 'mess' around with food.

I adapted their recipe to be gluten free and made their Hollandaise Sauce by an easier method. As a chef I can make Hollandaise but I haven't made Hollandaise by the traditional method for years. My method uses microwave and an immersion blender. My gluten free cookbook, Delicious Gluten Free Cooking also includes my easier Hollandaise sauce plus a lime variation that is good with fish.

My husband had bought me a bag of Udi's bagels at Trader Joe's without my asking (how good is that?) so I rewarded him with a variation for breakfast. I had some of the thin Alfresco chicken apple maple sausage (7 sausages to 8 oz). For the 2 people quantity below I substituted 2 of those sausages cut into very thin slices, white of a bunch of green onions cooked in 1 teaspoon of olive oil in microwave, and about 1 oz/2 tbsp goats cheese crumbles stirred in. Very pleasant, but very mild and at husband's suggestion (he's getting good isn't he) we had it with some of Trader Joe's peach salsa on the side. Think about using one of the Al Fresco chipotle chorizo sausage (2017 discontinued - not fair, 2018 they have a new sweet spicy bbq but I still prefer the original chipotle chorizo) and some roasted red pepper for more of a kick and for people that prefer the kick.

gluten free eggs benedict bread pudding with hollandaise sauce  www.kenwphoto.com

For 2 people, 8x8 quantities below

½ an Udi's plain bagel – I tried this with a gf English muffin and prefer the texture from Udi's bagel. Cut into tiny cubes about ½ inch square

1 egg or ¼ c gf egg substitute.

2 oz ham. I prefer Jones Canadian bacon or Ham steak cut into small dice rather than slices.

½ c milk – fat free is fine, in fact you don't feel quite so guilty when you then indulge in Hollandaise.

Pinch of onion powder

1 tbsp finely scissored green of green onion

1 tbsp finely chopped fresh parsley

salt and pepper to taste.

Smoked Paprika to garnish– I use Penzey's Smoked Spanish Paprika for flavor as well as color.

1. I like to mix the casserole ingredients in a glass bowl/jug, cover and refrigerate overnight. In the morning, spray baking dish and then pour in ingredients. This makes it far easier to clean dish. Put egg, milk, ham, onion powder, fresh herbs and salt and pepper to taste in glass bowl, mix well. Stir in bread cubes and then refrigerate overnight.

2. In the morning preheat oven to 350*, stir the bread mix well to make sure ham/bacon is evenly distributed, and then pour into sprayed baking dish. Sprinkle lightly with smoked paprika. For this quantity I use a small pyrex casserole of 2 cup capacity. Place on baking dish and bake in preheated oven for about 30-40 minutes. It will rise, brown and there should be no liquid 'sloshing' around in the middle when it is cooked. Do not cook above 350*.

Four times the recipe will fit an 8 cup, 8x8 inch casserole dish and will need to cook for about 45 minutes. With fruit on the side and Hollandaise it is a very festive, tasty dish. Without the Hollandaise it is boring to me.

Gluten Free Cookbook by Oonagh Williams

Featured Posts
Follow Me
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
No tags yet.
Tags
Gluten Free e-Cookbook
bottom of page